Ethics Commission

An Ethics Commission was created by a faculty resolution and approved by means of an ordinance from the Faculty Council. The ordinance took effect on February 1, 2009.
The ethics ordinance is based on the Ethical Principles of Psychologists and Code of Conduct (2002) of the American Psychological Association (APA), the "Ethische Richtlinien für Psychologinnen und Psychologen" (Ethical Guidelines for Psychologists) of the Schweizerische Gesellschaft für Psychologie (Swiss Psychological Society – SGP), the Code of Ethics of the American Sociological Association (ASA), the Code of Ethics of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Soziologie (German Society of Sociology – DGS), the Ethical Standards of the American Educational Research Association (AERA), the Code of Ethics of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Erziehungswissenschaft (German Society for Educational Science – DGfE) and the Principles of Professional Ethics for Sports Scientists of the Deutsche Vereinigung für Sportwissenschaft (German Society of Sport Science – DVS).
Based on these guidelines, members of the Faculty of Human Sciences may only conduct empirical testing on humans if the Ethics Commission responsible has given its approval. The Ethics Commission currently consists of 11 members and their deputies (see below).
Each request (both individual and group requests) is assessed by five serving members of the Ethics Commission, who must without exception include three professors, a representative from mid-level faculty personnel and a student representative. Projects are approved in accordance with the regulations.
Requests may only be made by members of the faculty and lecturers (doctorate level or higher).
Requests relating to research projects that form part of a larger project (e.g. degree-related work for students) must be made on a group-basis by the relevant leader of the research group.